Cahiers

2008 / n° 19

Victor Considerant, 1808-2008

sommaire
résumés
abstracts
commander





Editorial

Thomas Bouchet
Michel Cordillot
About a Bicentenary
texte intégral

Etudes

Jonathan Beecher
« Victor, Charles, Désirée and the Others » : an Interview with Jonathan Beecher

The well known American historian specialist of Fourier and the École sociétaire revisits the reasons that led him to write a biography of Victor Considerant, stressing the differences between the latter and the biography he devoted to Fourier, anlyzing Considerant’s « humanitarian idealism » and « romantic socialism », recalling some figures of l’École sociétaire who would be well worth a biography, questioning the usage by Considerant of Fourier’s ideas, and eventually giving the main lines of the book that he is writing right now.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Marc Vuilleumier
About Considerant’s Conferences in Geneva (october 1946)

After a brief analysis of the emergence of Fourierist ideas in Geneva and the setting up of a phalansterian group, one will endeavor to examine the impact of the presentations given by Considerant in October 1846 on the basis of local and archival sources. These presentations took place immediately after a revolution, and Considerant decided then to send to those assembled to draft a Constitution his proposals for holding true elections, which was subsequently refused by the radicals as well as by the conservatives.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Michel Cordillot
Considerant’s Political Evolution on the Eve of the 1848 Revolution. About Joseph Rey’s "Appel au ralliement des socialistes"

While the general circumstances of Considerant’s political evolution prior to 1848 are well known, his debate with Joseph Rey (an old timer of democracy, who had introduced in France Robert Owen’s ideas, and was preaching a form of syncretic communism) documents his radical evolution towards republicanism. Considerant makes clear his acceptation of the notion of social and democratic Republic. The efforts of the Fourierists in the fall of 1848 in favor of unity, which largely contributed to the birth of the démoc-soc party were accordingly the logical consequence of Considerant’s stance in the summer of 1847.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Thomas Bouchet
The School and the Parliament

During a whole year, Considerant was at once the leader of the École sociétaire and a representative of the people in the Parliament assembled to draft a constitution for the Second Republic. The point here is to analyse his experience, at the same time of paramount importance and a bitter one. Convinced that his two commitments were complementary, Considerant invested much energy in the Assemblée, but his dream of fourierism as a republic spawned anger, amusement, or indifference. In spite of his failure, he constinued to call himself a « phalansterian, [...] a member of European democracy, a French citizen, and a Representative of the People ».

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Martin Stohler
Considerant, Bürkli et la création d’un espace politique, 1846-1850

In a modern, participatory democracy, citizens cannot assemble like they would in Athens or in ancient Sparta to adopt political decisions. There are too many of them, and their territory is too vast. To go further than a mere representative democracy, it becomes necessary to create a political sphere with instruments that make it possible to participate in the decisions of the government or parliament. Victor Considerant, together with the Swiss socialist Karl Bürkli took an active part in the debate about such democratic instruments. Their contribution is analysed in the present article.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Federico De La Torre
Socialist Ideas in mid-19th Century Mexico

As of the end of the XVIIIth Century, the theoreticians of utopian socialism started to pay a growing interest for the American continent, which was at the origin of diverse traditions. This article focuses specifically on the emergence in the city of Guadalajara of one of those traditions, influenced by fourierism, around the middle of the XIXth Century. It can be accounted for by the links established by some of its members with the leaders of fourierism, and first of all with Considerant.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Bruno Verlet
From one Texas to Another. French Utopians in the American West

What role did Considerant play in the experiment at La Reunion ? A close reading of his Au Texas (two versions published in 1854 and 1855) seems to indicate that his analyses were hardly rigorous, far too optimistic, and that he remained largely indifferent to the concrete conditions in which the experiment was to take place. By describing an idealized Texas, did he not contribute from the beginning to the ultimate failure of La Reunion ?

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Louis Ucciani
Under the Sign of the Indian

Considerant’s failure with his colony at La Reunion is addressed at several levels, where the facts pertaining to Considerant’s personal trajectory, his acceptation of Fourier’s system of destinies, and the fate of utopias in general repeatedly collide. Using the image of the Indian as an imaginary red thread, the purpose of this paper is to define the conditions making possible a concrete achievement. Taking failure as a starting point means to try and understand its causes, endeavouring at the same time not to repeat them. One of the most remarkable aspects of this experience was its anticipation of the theoretical depreciation of space. However surprising this might sound, especially today when space seems to have become a well-appreciated object of theory, it nevertheless was an actual attempt. This leads us to the following insight for the present time : how can one think while simultaneously neutralizing space.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Bernard Desmars
Forget Texas ? The Fourierists and Victor Considerant from the End of the 1850s to the Beginning of the 20th Century

Around 1860, as the Fourierists were attempting to reorganize the Societary School, they submited Considerant’s past action to a highly critical examination. More that the Texas failure, they denounced his authoritarian management of the phalansterian movement and his commitment to political struggle. Yet, Considerant returned to France in 1869 to the acclaim of his friends, who tried in vain to persuade him to take back the School leadership. In the course of the following years, he was repeatedly urged to take part in the activities and manifestations inspired by fourierism. Yet, by the end of the 1880s a new group had constituted itself without him. And after his death, what was left of the Fourierist movement placed the memory of Fourier above that of Considerant.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Michel Vernus
Quelques aspects de la postérité politique du fouriérisme dans le Jura (fin du XIXe-début du XXe siècle)
A few aspects of the Political Posterity of Fourierism in Jura (end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th Century)

Concerning the Jura, rather than the presence of a Fourierist tradition at the turn of the XXth Century, one should speak of a persisting memory, of references, of some diffuse influence through emergent farmers’ unionism, or the cooperatives producing wine and cheese. Two congressmen from Jura kept the flame alive. Victor Poupin (1838-1906), who was close to the Ligue de l’enseignement (The Education League) and to Wladimir Gagneur, published in La Démocratie jurassienne possibly the last text written by Considerant, entitled « Le problème social » (“The Social Problem”). Georges Trouillot (1851-1916), who presented in 1901 before the French Parliament the law pertaining to associations, presided the association for the erection of a statue of Considerant in Salins. Favoring both a secular state, they possibly saw in this reference made to Considerant a moral and social dimension which was needed in building a secular Republic.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Jean-Claude Dubos
The Origins and the Family of Considerant

Considerant’s family had been living in Salins for the past four generations. His great grandfather, Jacques, was a bookbinder and used clothes dealer in Salins. His grandfather Claude was a bookdealer. His father Jean-Baptiste was a professor of rhetorical Art at the local high school ; he married Suzanne Courbe, the daughter of a public notary and a first degree cousin of Désiré Adrien Gréa, who numbered among Fourier’s very first disciples, and was later to be elected representative in Parliament for the Doubs department (1828-1834), and then for the Jura department (1848). Victor Considerant maintained close links with his Gréa cousins, whereas he does not appear to have maintained any with the Belgian branch of the family.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Marcel Cerf
The Architect Joseph Louis Delbrouck (1819-1871), Fourierist and Communard

Not well known, the architect Louis Delbrouck, one of the signatories of the « Manifeste électoral » (“Electoral Manifesto”) published by Considerant in April 1848, together with Félix Cantagrel, Allyre Bureau, Victor Hennequin, or César Daly, was also an enthusiastic forty-eighter. In 1871, this uncommon Fourierist offered his services to the Paris Commune, while consistenly refusing to bear arms.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Patrice Rolland
Considerant and the Debate on the European Federation

As regards the question of peace in Europe, Considerant isn’t really Fourier’s disciple. In the 1840s, the idea of a European federation spread in many European circles, but in very approximate forms. Considerrant perceived quite early the link existing between the emergence of a « pacific and industrious Europe » and the new conditions required for safeguarding peace. He saw the forthcoming international legal developments. Back from the USA, he pronounced himself long before many others in favour of an American type of federalism : his thought concerning harmonian Unity thus became more precise, losing at the time part of its originality.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Chantal Guillaume
Victor Considerant, un fouriériste en politique ?
Victor Considerant, a Fourierist in Politics ?

Considerant was not just the curator of the Fourierist doctrine. This becomes obvious when one examines his work or his political commitment in the light of XIXth Century historical turmoils. He tried to usher fourierism into politics by making it consistent with the exigencies of the newborn Republic. His phalansterian socialism, whose specificities need to be grasped, was part and parcel of the political struggle of his times. Thus his analyses eventually bear witness to the difficulty of finding the right « socialist formula », of adapting theory to practice, of formulating a political theory adjusting to social experience.

résumé | abstract | texte intégral

Sources

Thomas Bouchet
« Cette science sociale qui fait toute ma vie » : une lettre de Considerant à Charles Magnin, 6 février 1830 (fonds Magnin, Salins)
texte intégral

Loïc Rignol
Les Bases de la Politique positive, ou Normes d’un vitalisme socialiste chez Victor Considerant (extraits)
texte intégral

Edward Castleton
Les manuscrits inédits de Pierre-Joseph Proudhon : une critique des idées fouriéristes (observations préliminaires)
texte intégral

Illustrations

Considerant par l’image
texte intégral

Expérimentations

Chantal Guillaume
At the Peasant Market in Millau
texte intégral

Chantal Guillaume
Marcel Barbu
texte intégral

Louis Ucciani
The Babayagas
texte intégral

Chantal Guillaume
Slow Food : Gastrosophy Rediscovered
texte intégral

Notes de lecture

Thomas Bouchet
BREMAND Nathalie : Les socialismes et l’enfance. Expérimentations et utopie 1830-1870 (2008)
Rennes, Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2008, 365 p.
texte intégral

Bernard Desmars
GODIN Jean-Baptiste André : Lettres du familistère (2008)
textes choisis, établis et annotés par Frédéric K. PANNI, photographies de Hugues Fontaine, Guise, Les Editions du Familistère, 2008, 160 p.
texte intégral

Thomas Bouchet
GRANVILLE Jean-Ignace-Isidore Gérard, dit : La meilleure forme de gouvernement (2008)
Paris, Abstème et Bobance, 2008, 19 p.
texte intégral

Jean-Claude Dubos
GUENGANT Jean-Yves : Brest et la franc-maçonnerie. Les Amis de Sully, des origines à nos jours (2008)
Brest, Armeline, 2008, 477 p.
texte intégral

Thomas Bouchet
CHARLOT Patrick , GASPARINI Eric (dir.) : La femme dans l’histoire du droit et des idées politiques (2008)
Dijon, EUD, 2008, 240 p.
texte intégral

Laurence Bouchet
SCHERER René : Pour un nouvel anarchisme (2008)
Paris, éditions Cartouche, 2008
texte intégral

Gaston Bordet
WEY Francis : Notre Maître-Peintre Gustave Courbet (2008)
La Rochelle, Rumeur des âges, 2007, 60 p., avec une introduction, des notes et une édition critique par Frédérique Desbuissons
texte intégral

Actualités

Informations diverses
texte intégral



 . 

 . 

 .

Cahiers

2008 / n° 19

Victor Considerant, 1808-2008

sommaire
résumés
abstracts
commander





Editorial

Thomas Bouchet
Michel Cordillot
A propos d’un bicentenaire
texte intégral

Etudes

Jonathan Beecher
« Victor, Charles, Désirée et les autres » : conversation avec Jonathan Beecher

Le grand historien américain spécialiste de Fourier et de l’Ecole sociétaire revient sur les raisons qui l’ont conduit à écrire une biographie de Victor Considerant, souligne à quel point cette biographie diffère celle qu’il a consacrée à Fourier, analyse l’« idéalisme humanitaire » et le « socialisme romantique » de Considerant, évoque quelques figures de l’Ecole sociétaire qui mériteraient selon lui une biographie, s’interroge sur l’usage fait par Considerant des idées de Fourier, présente dans ses grandes lignes le livre sur lequel il travaille actuellement.

résumé | abstract

Marc Vuilleumier
Autour des conférences de Considerant à Genève (octobre 1846)

En croisant les sources locales avec les archives et la presse sociétaires, on se propose, après avoir brièvement évoqué la diffusion du fouriérisme à Genève et la formation d’un groupe phalanstérien, d’examiner les conséquences des conférences de Considerant (octobre 1846). On est au lendemain d’une révolution et il en profite pour adresser aux constituants son projet d’élections véridiques, qui sera refusé tant par les radicaux que par les conservateurs.

résumé | abstract

Michel Cordillot
L’évolution politique de Considerant à la veille de la révolution de 1848
A propos de "L’Appel au ralliement des socialistes" de Joseph Rey

Si le cadre général de l’évolution politique de Considerant avant 1848 est bien connu, les idées qu’il échange au cours de l’été 1847 avec Joseph Rey (vétéran de la démocratie, introducteur en France des théories de Robert Owen, communiste syncrétique) attestent d’une évolution plus radicale encore vers la République. Considerant y affirme son ralliement à une République démocratique et sociale. Ainsi, les efforts unitaires des fouriéristes à l’automne 1848, qui contribuent largement à la naissance du parti démoc-soc, sont le prolongement logique de la prise de position de l’été 1847.

résumé | abstract

Thomas Bouchet
L’Ecole et l’Assemblée
Considerant à la Constituante, 1848-1849

Pendant un an, Victor Considerant est à la fois chef de l’Ecole sociétaire et représentant du peuple à l’Assemblée constituante de la Deuxième République. Il s’agit ici d’analyser cette expérience à la fois décisive et cuisante. Persuadé que ses deux engagements sont complémentaires, Considerant déploie une grande énergie à l’Assemblée mais son rêve de fouriérisme en république irrite, amuse ou indiffère. Malgré l’échec, il persiste ensuite à se déclarer « phalanstérien, [...] membre de la démocratie européenne, citoyen français et Représentant du Peuple ».

résumé | abstract

Martin Stohler
Considerant, Bürkli et la création d’un espace politique, 1846-1850

Dans une démocratie moderne directe et participative, les citoyennes et les citoyens ne peuvent se réunir en ecclesia pour prendre des décisions politiques comme dans l’Athènes ou la Sparte antiques : ils sont trop nombreux et leur territoire trop étendu. Pour ne pas s’en tenir à une démocratie représentative il faut donc créer un espace politique avec des instruments qui permettent de participer aux décisions du gouvernement et du parlement. Victor Considerant et le fouriériste et socialiste suisse Karl Bürkli participent activement aux débats sur l’élaboration de ces instruments démocratiques. Cet article analyse leurs contributions.

résumé | abstract

Federico De La Torre
Les idées socialistes au Mexique au milieu du XIXe siècle
Guadalajara et ses liens avec le fouriérisme de Victor Considerant

Les théoriciens du socialisme utopique manifestent à partir de la fin du XVIIIe siècle un intérêt croissant pour le continent américain, à la source de traditions diverses. L’article porte en particulier sur la formation dans la ville de Guadalajara, vers le milieu du XIXe siècle, d’une tradition socialiste d’influence fouriériste ; elle s’explique par les liens qu’ont entretenus certains de ses membres avec les chefs de file de ce mouvement, et Victor Considerant en tout premier lieu.

résumé | abstract

Bruno Verlet
D’un Texas l’autre
Des utopistes français dans l’Ouest américain

Quel rôle Victor Considerant a-t-il joué dans l’expérience de Réunion ? Une relecture attentive de son Au Texas (1854 et 1855) conduit à penser que ses analyses sont peu rigoureuses, exagérément optimistes, qu’il reste assez indifférent aux conditions de possibilité concrètes de l’expérience. En décrivant un Texas rêvé, ne contribue-t-il pas dès l’origine à l’échec de Réunion ?

résumé | abstract

Louis Ucciani
Sous le signe de l’Indien

L’échec de Considerant dans sa tentative de Réunion au Texas est ici envisagé dans une lecture à plusieurs niveaux où les données du destin personnel de Considerant, son adhésion au système des destinées de Fourier et le destin général des utopies, se percutent sans cesse. Autour de la figure de l’Indien comme fil conducteur imaginaire il s’agit de délimiter les conditions de possibilité d’une réalisation. Partir de l’échec c’est essayer d’en comprendre les raisons en espérant ne pas les répéter. Une des choses les plus remarquables de cette expérience consiste en une anticipation de la dévalorisation théorique de l’espace. Si cela peut paraître étonnant en notre époque où l’espace semble être un objet théorique fort prisé, cela n’en demeure pas moins une réalité expérimentée. On aboutit à cette piste, pour le temps présent : comment penser en neutralisant la dimension spatiale ?

résumé | abstract

Bernard Desmars
Oublier le Texas ?
Les fouriéristes et Victor Considerant, de la fin des années 1850 au début du XXe siècle

Vers 1860, lorsque des fouriéristes tentent de réorganiser l’Ecole sociétaire, ils soumettent l’action passée de Victor Considerant à une critique très sévère ; davantage que l’échec texan, ils dénoncent sa gestion autoritaire du mouvement phalanstérien et son engagement dans les luttes politiques. Cependant, quand il revient en France en 1869, Considerant est acclamé par ses condisciples, qui le pressent, en vain, de reprendre la tête de l’Ecole ; dans les années suivantes, il est encore sollicité pour participer à des activités ou à des manifestations d’inspiration fouriériste. Cependant, à la fin des années 1880, un nouveau groupe se construit sans lui. Et après sa mort, ce qui reste du mouvement fouriériste privilégie la mémoire de Fourier sur celle de Considerant.

résumé | abstract

Michel Vernus
Quelques aspects de la postérité politique du fouriérisme dans le Jura (fin du XIXe-début du XXe siècle)
A few aspects of the Political Posterity of Fourierism in Jura (end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th Century)

On ne peut parler pour le Jura d’un fouriérisme bien vivant au tournant des XIXe et XXe siècles, mais plutôt d’une mémoire entretenue, de références, d’une influence diffuse via le syndicalisme paysan naissant ou les fruitières fromagères et viticoles. Deux députés du Jura entretiennent la flamme. Victor Poupin (1838-1906) lié à la ligue de l’enseignement, proche de Wladimir Gagneur, publie en 1892 dans La démocratie jurassienne un dernier texte de Considérant intitulé « le problème social ». Georges Trouillot (1851-1916), rapporteur de la loi sur les associations de 1901, patronne l’association pour l’édification d’une sculpture à la mémoire de Considérant à Salins. Militants laïques, ils trouvent peut-être dans cette référence une dimension morale et sociale dont la République laïque en construction a besoin.

résumé | abstract

Jean-Claude Dubos
Les origines et la famille de Considerant

La famille de Considerant était fixée à Salins depuis quatre générations. Son arrière-grand-père Jacques était relieur et marchand fripier à Salins. Son grand-père Claude était libraire. Son père Jean-Baptiste a été professeur de rhétorique au collège de Salins ; il a épousé Suzanne Courbe, fille de notaire et cousine germaine de Désiré Adrien Gréa, l’un des premiers disciples de Fourier, député du Doubs (1828-1834) puis du Jura (1848). Victor Considerant a entretenu des relations suivies avec ses cousins Gréa alors qu’il ne semble pas avoir fréquenté la branche belge de la famille.

résumé | abstract

Marcel Cerf
L’architecte Joseph Louis Delbrouck (1819-1871), fouriériste et communard

Mal connu, l’architecte Louis Delbrouck, signataire du « Manifeste électoral » de Considerant en avril 1848 aux côtés de Félix Cantagrel, Allyre Bureau, Victor Hennequin ou encore César Daly, fut un quarante-huitard enthousiaste et actif. En 1871, ce fouriériste atypique se mit au service de la Commune de Paris, tout en refusant de porter les armes.

résumé | abstract

Patrice Rolland
Considerant et le débat sur la Fédération européenne

Considerant n’est pas vraiment disciple de Fourier sur la question de la paix en Europe. Dans les années 1840 l’idée de fédération européenne se répand dans de nombreux milieux, mais sans rigueur. Considerant, lui, perçoit très tôt le lien entre l’apparition d’une nouvelle Europe « industrieuse et pacifique » et les nouvelles conditions de la paix. Il en prévoit les développements juridiques internationaux à venir. De retour des Etats-Unis, il opte avant bien d’autres pour un fédéralisme de type américain : sa pensée de l’Unité harmonique se précise mais perd en originalité.

résumé | abstract

Chantal Guillaume
Victor Considerant, un fouriériste en politique ?
Victor Considerant, a Fourierist in Politics ?

Considerant n’est pas seulement le gardien de la doctrine fouriériste. On peut s’en convaincre si on analyse son œuvre, son engagement politique à la lumière des soubresauts de l’histoire du XIXe siècle. Il a tenté de faire entrer le fouriérisme en politique, en l’infléchissant, en l’accommodant aux nécessités de la République naissante. Son socialisme phalanstérien dont il faut saisir la spécificité s’inscrit dans le combat politique de son époque. Ainsi ses analyses finissent par témoigner de la difficulté à trouver la « formule socialiste », d’adapter la théorie à la pratique, de donner une théorie politique à la pratique sociale.

résumé | abstract

Sources

Thomas Bouchet
« Cette science sociale qui fait toute ma vie » : une lettre de Considerant à Charles Magnin, 6 février 1830 (fonds Magnin, Salins)

Loïc Rignol
Les Bases de la Politique positive, ou Normes d’un vitalisme socialiste chez Victor Considerant (extraits)

Edward Castleton
Les manuscrits inédits de Pierre-Joseph Proudhon : une critique des idées fouriéristes (observations préliminaires)

Illustrations

Considerant par l’image

Expérimentations

Chantal Guillaume
Au marché paysan de Millau
texte intégral

Chantal Guillaume
Marcel Barbu
texte intégral

Louis Ucciani
Les Babayagas
texte intégral

Chantal Guillaume
Slow food, la gastrosophie redécouverte
texte intégral

Notes de lecture

Thomas Bouchet
BREMAND Nathalie : Les socialismes et l’enfance. Expérimentations et utopie 1830-1870 (2008)
Rennes, Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2008, 365 p.
texte intégral

Bernard Desmars
GODIN Jean-Baptiste André : Lettres du familistère (2008)
textes choisis, établis et annotés par Frédéric K. PANNI, photographies de Hugues Fontaine, Guise, Les Editions du Familistère, 2008, 160 p.
texte intégral

Thomas Bouchet
GRANVILLE Jean-Ignace-Isidore Gérard, dit : La meilleure forme de gouvernement (2008)
Paris, Abstème et Bobance, 2008, 19 p.
texte intégral

Jean-Claude Dubos
GUENGANT Jean-Yves : Brest et la franc-maçonnerie. Les Amis de Sully, des origines à nos jours (2008)
Brest, Armeline, 2008, 477 p.
texte intégral

Thomas Bouchet
CHARLOT Patrick , GASPARINI Eric (dir.) : La femme dans l’histoire du droit et des idées politiques (2008)
Dijon, EUD, 2008, 240 p.
texte intégral

Laurence Bouchet
SCHERER René : Pour un nouvel anarchisme (2008)
Paris, éditions Cartouche, 2008
texte intégral

Gaston Bordet
WEY Francis : Notre Maître-Peintre Gustave Courbet (2008)
La Rochelle, Rumeur des âges, 2007, 60 p., avec une introduction, des notes et une édition critique par Frédérique Desbuissons
texte intégral

Actualités

Informations diverses
texte intégral



 . 

 . 

 .